Bell Peppers anyone

1 Mar

Well , the salad needed more of these and the growing girth of DH and mine were proof to that. Hyderabad is a warm city and I am  too lazy to run to the supermarket each time. I decided to take matters into the pot directly by chucking a few healthy capsicum seeds into a 3 inch plastic paint pot. I was not even sure if they would germinate hence the haphazard lines. The germination time was around 20 days . 20 days of peeping and only saying hello to the potted medium which was a mix of soil, manure and cocopeat. ( 50:25:25)

DSC01510

I let the saplings grow to an inch and a half before transplanting them into bigger containers. I was not sure if the transplants would survive hence planted two/three in a pot. Ensure that the transplants are done either early morning /late evening when the sun isnt too harsh.

DSC01534 DSC01556

Thinned the growth and potted some more pots after the saplings were stronger and looked healthier. And then I used some organic fertilizer and lo and behold, after a  month and a half , I could see the cutest looking buds.

Picture 036 Picture 035

Leave them alone, watch out for pests and weeds . I noticed that the plants prefer warm places but cannot handle direct sunlight.  Add fertiliser or manure every week and watch them growing. So here they come,  say cheese .. to two months of nurture. Got about 2 kgs of  capsicums from three pots .

179207_501242529020_4730887_n Bell Peppers

Best time to sow for the capsicums are when the Sun God isnt  shining too much , atleast in South India , I would choose the rainy seasons July to August  and beginning of winter October,November or my favourite months of the year, January and February.

Chomp Chomp on juicy bells. Leave them on to ripen to get a prettier pic.

9 Responses to “Bell Peppers anyone”

  1. Malini April 21, 2013 at 4:10 pm #

    Wow! I dream of achieving something like that! Where do you buy your soil and other stuff? Lalbagh?

    • Thumbelina81 May 1, 2013 at 3:52 pm #

      Thanks Malini, I attempted this at Hyderabad. But generally I procure soil and seeds from a local nursery in whitefield.

  2. Indrani May 1, 2013 at 4:55 pm #

    Wow! Not bad at all!

  3. madconnection May 1, 2013 at 5:47 pm #

    Wow! You are tempting me to do the same with other veggies too. 🙂

  4. My Say May 2, 2013 at 2:34 am #

    I wish I had noticed before Thumelina is also into gardening 🙂 …. what a surprise and so pleasant indeed.. offlate I have started growing few plants thanks to Pattu Raj(fellow blogger) and now feels like I am so attached … to them … Bell Pepper at the comfort of the terrace is indeed an inspiring idea .. so thumbs Up for this post .. and the sweet clicks …Just to share- I enjoy Lemon from my plant !! Ain’t that an achievement?

  5. Debopam Banerjee May 2, 2013 at 10:31 am #

    Nice effort and good results too…………..

    Debnature
    Kenfolios

  6. Saru (@PerfectOdyssey) May 3, 2013 at 12:01 pm #

    Amazing! I shall try this.

  7. ionutmarius2004 May 11, 2013 at 10:39 am #

    nice! wish you much success! Good luck Do you like our blog?

  8. Helen Holshouser May 16, 2013 at 4:33 pm #

    Hi , I love this post on peppers! For some reason I’ve had no luck growing them here in NC in america. You have given me some hints here! I may try in pots and not in bright sunshine! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

