When I am full of beans

31 Mar

Beans Poriyal and Sambhar is comfort food anyday for a kindred South Indian soul like me. And when I decided to grow some of these beauties, they blessed me with abundance. Giving me the freshest produce and by far the best that I have eaten.

Choosing the variety – I chose the dwarf beans variety. I was told by the guys at the local nursery that they did not need  support or trellises which was a blessing in disguise.

So off the seeds went into a potted medium of soil, cocopeat and vermicompost. and they germinated within ten days. Did not need special care, just needed to ensure that the weeds were removed periodically.

It was  a sight to the eyes when the two leaved saplings turned lush and green. Pictures of them at fourteen days and then a month old babies.Image Image

Regular fertilisation, adding manure and lots of love led to harvest time soon. When the greenie beans played Peek-a boo with me.

Image

And my produce of 1.5 kg from 10 pots . Had a regular inflow of them at the dining table for a month after which they had to be taken out.ImageLessons Learnt :

1. Beans can be sown in January, February and March for the Indian climates.

2. They prefer a lot of sunlight and flourish when they recieve about four hours of sunlight everyday.

3. Occasionally you might find white lines spread across their leaves, which is apparently a trait of the beans family.

4. Harvest the pods when they are still taut and fresh.Waiting for too long decreases their flavour and makes them stringy.

Happy Bean time folks and if you need any tips , please dont hesitate to contact the Pitter Potter gardener.

8 Responses to “When I am full of beans”

  1. anjan roy May 4, 2013 at 8:41 am #

    Beans are one of my favorite…it makes me feel like MR BEEN…!!!

    • My Say May 4, 2013 at 10:51 am #

      hahaha !! Anjan .. you have that Mr Bean in you at least when you relate this post with Mr Bean hahahahaha !! I appreciate your efforts Thumbalina for making your surrounding green and growing food for self !! This is the next thing in my To-Do-List !! Thanks for the share !!

  2. magiceye May 9, 2013 at 2:05 am #

    Will surely try to grow them. Thank you!!

  3. ahumbledvessel May 15, 2013 at 12:37 pm #

    that is awesome 🙂 I love getting produce after watching my garden grow 🙂 Thanks for stopping by my blog.

  4. ahumbledvessel May 15, 2013 at 12:38 pm #

    Do you ever grow pineapple from the tops? I am trying that today. I have never done it, but didn’t know how long it took. Thanks. Tara

  5. sushmitha May 19, 2013 at 3:42 pm #

    Wow ! looking great. Beans are my favorite 🙂 Thanks for the tips Thumbalina. Could you help me on how to pronounce your name.

  6. Sarah May 25, 2013 at 3:30 am #

    I love growing beans in my vege garden too. I managed to extend the growing season this year by planting a crop of King of the Blues in my greenhouse at the end of summer. It’s the last month of Autumn here in New Zealand right now and I still have beans to harvest for supper! Thanks for sharing your lessons learnt and lovely photos!

  7. Amy July 2, 2013 at 11:27 pm #

    Hmmm…. need to find out if these will grow in my area!!! Look so yummy! Thanks for the follow, too ;-D

Leave a Reply

