The bloom that makes me go hmmm

14 May

This annual bloom makes me go hmmm. I can keep staring at it for hours and continue to be mesmerized with the sheer beauty of its colour. This flower is the Red Blood Lily/Fireball Lily, Biological name is Scadoxus multiflorus katherinae.  The plant is three years old , and was given to me by my gardener in Hyderabad. She brought in a lot of joy, several  butterflies and hummingbirds to my garden. Blooms only once in a year, takes ten days to bloom fully and stays afresh for two weeks. The transformation every year , makes me smile and so very happy. Thought I’ll share the beauty with the rest of the world. So here it comes

The bud

Lily Bud

The bud at 5 days.

DSC01121

And now the beautiful lily in full bloom:

Final Lily

Here’s last years bloom. I thought it was prettier last time with a darker hue.

Red blood liy1

Hope you’ll liked it. Let me know , I am all ears.

30 Responses to “The bloom that makes me go hmmm”

  1. My Say May 14, 2013 at 6:00 pm #

    simply WOW !! I loved the Fireball Lillies since I was a kiddo !! Wow !! I think the lighter one is more dearer to me 🙂

    • Thumbelina81 May 15, 2013 at 4:24 am #

      I love them too, wait for them anxiously , And yes thanks for letting me know that they are called Fireball lilies too. will update it My Say.

  2. Malini May 14, 2013 at 6:05 pm #

    Wow! So exotic it looks! As if right from the ‘Avatar’ movie! Wishing you many more happy flowering moments!

    • Thumbelina81 May 15, 2013 at 4:26 am #

      Thanks Malini, they are very pretty indeed and brighten up my little balcony garden. Each flowering moment is special and I am glad they are so many people who share my enthusiasm. :Lovely to hear from you as always.

  3. JayadevM May 14, 2013 at 7:15 pm #

    Just this morning a friend had posted the picture of this flower and asked me for help to identify it. A little research on google gave me the answer. Nice photos.

    • Thumbelina81 May 15, 2013 at 4:27 am #

      Thanks for visiting Jayadev. I am glad you liked the photos, My Say tells me that they are also called fireball lillies. I hope you got that. Thanks for taking time to comment.

  4. My Say May 15, 2013 at 4:45 am #

    see !! I was so right ! they are fireball lily ! I googled and found it 😀 Hurrah i am not that big a fool as much I thought of myself !! 😀

    • Thumbelina81 May 15, 2013 at 10:56 am #

      THank you My say for letting me know. Updating the post now.

      • My Say May 15, 2013 at 11:14 am #

        Thanks Sonia for understanding a doodler’s emotion 🙂 the world bashes us … with its rough questions time and again. Questions on General Knowledge and every other knowledge beyond general and the doodlers stand speechless … as if they have seen a ghost !! 🙂

  5. kislayagopal May 15, 2013 at 6:10 am #

    It made me go Wooooooow!! Nature is so beautiful!
    Loved the blood red lily, Blooms once a year but then stays for 2 weeks, it definitely must have brought a lot of joy to you… 🙂 when seeing it can make me so happy!

  6. magiceye May 15, 2013 at 10:11 am #

    They are indeed lovely!

  7. maria May 15, 2013 at 10:41 am #

    voww…patience n passion pays

  8. madconnection May 15, 2013 at 12:38 pm #

    So pretty. 🙂

  9. Rat May 15, 2013 at 1:06 pm #

    lovely picture 🙂

  10. Easwar Arumugam May 15, 2013 at 4:00 pm #

    wow! lovely pictures … so charming … so captivating

  11. ranjanashankar May 15, 2013 at 4:09 pm #

    Beautiful!

  12. Java Girl May 15, 2013 at 5:34 pm #

    Pretty pictures and nice blog! Thanks for the follow! 🙂

  13. Debopam Banerjee May 15, 2013 at 7:50 pm #

    I saw this flower, never knew the name…… A beautiful flower wonderfully captured…..

  14. Rajesh May 16, 2013 at 5:26 am #

    Wow! very beautiful.

  15. shellymona May 17, 2013 at 11:48 am #

    Beautiful!
    Full of life …. indeed
    I am going to follow your blog to stay in touch with nature

  16. KP May 19, 2013 at 3:51 am #

    The wait for a year for the flower to bloom is worth it.It is very beautiful

  17. sushmitha May 19, 2013 at 3:33 pm #

    I’m new to your blog and just stopped by to say its looking wonderful. This Red Blood Lily Is just looking awesome 🙂

  18. danielburns271 May 22, 2013 at 10:00 am #

    I agree! Even by just watching the pictures, it make me hhmm… They are pretty.

  19. ramonade May 24, 2013 at 4:50 am #

    Wow, this fireball lilies are amazing! This is the 1st time I’ve seen it and quite impressed. Are they hard to grow? Does it require lots of attention or only when it’s blooming it gets ALL your attention. Luv it!

  20. bikerchick57 May 26, 2013 at 2:55 pm #

    I love this lily! It reminds me of allium. Gorgeous! (BTW, thank you for following my blog.)

  21. Miki Kuwabara Photography June 16, 2013 at 3:31 am #

    Wow! It’s like fireworks in your garden! I can see why you love to look at it.
    By the way, thank you for viewing and following my photo blog! Came back and visit again soon!

  22. InnerDialect August 4, 2013 at 12:53 am #

    Love flowers… they distract compel to go a little happily insane… for me they are the thoughts of mankind sown with tears of peace’…. thank for a beautiful share, happy friendship day lovely person

    • Thumbelina81 August 4, 2013 at 2:06 pm #

      Thank you and wish you a very happy friendship day too.

  23. Shilpi Dutta November 14, 2013 at 6:56 am #

    Have seen this flower so many times, but never knew its name…Bloody lily it is 🙂 The caption made me see the post 🙂 Good job!

    • Thumbelina81 November 16, 2013 at 7:49 pm #

      Thanks Shilpi. I am glad you liked it and indeed it is true..this is a flower which makes me go hmmm

Leave a Reply

