Okra/Bhindi/Lady’sfinger in pots

24 May

Growing up,  Amma would make me eat Bhindi calling it brain food and I grew up loving the vegetable.So how could I not attempt growing these nutritional wonders in my pots.  The seedlings took ten days to germinate and the tiny saplings were beautiful to stare at.

IMAG0162 (1)

 

I waited for the saplings to grow into strong four leaved plants and transplanted them into seperate containers. Planted three  of them in each pot. I had eight pots filled with compost, soil and cocopeat.

DSC01475

 

They prefer a lot of sunlight and I have realised that they are thirsty plants. I needed to water them quite frequently.Kept checking for weeds and pests and within twenty days, I had the most beautiful flowers . Apparently, okra is related to the hibiscus family, Take a look at the flower .

Flower

 

And after ten more days,  had the flowers growing into pods , A bit of organic fertilizer during this stage helped boost the pods. Take a look at them growing in various stages.

PicMonkey CollageEnsure that the pods are harvested when they are tender, lest they become stringy . Tender succulent Okra made for quite a few delicious dishes at home.  So the proud owner gleams at the produce after a total of two months.

Picture 022

The nutrition powerhouse has the highest number of folates apparently . Take a look at its detailed nutritional benefits here.And if you have any questions for the amateur gardener, please dont hesitate to reach out.

 

33 Responses to “Okra/Bhindi/Lady’sfinger in pots”

  1. sushmitha May 24, 2013 at 4:27 am #

    Wow ! nice pictures. Its always treat to watch these vegetables so fresh from our garden. Thanks for sharing. Check my post on kitchen gardening http://sushlaventulip06.blogspot.in/2012/11/kitchen-gardening-fast-growing-trend_23.html

    • Thumbelina81 May 26, 2013 at 2:23 am #

      Thanks Sushmitha.I am a regular on your blog and sorry for being a quiet reader But love your blog. The recent post on Lavender was informative

      • sushmitha06 May 27, 2013 at 9:29 am #

        Thanks Sonia 🙂 Good to know that you are regular. Thanks for the visit and keep visiting. And your blog is great too. Its treat to watch those fresh veggies in your garden. Keep going 🙂

  2. Malini May 24, 2013 at 5:52 am #

    OMG!!! They look so inviting! I really have to take tips from you. My plants would’ve been much happier in your garden :).

    • Thumbelina81 May 26, 2013 at 2:26 am #

      Thanks Malini, would love to baby sit your plants any time.

  3. My Say May 24, 2013 at 6:02 am #

    the flower of bhindi looks so nice !! thank you Sonia for giving me a reason to respect that vegetable 😀 inspiring blog you have … I wish to grow at least 10 veg on my terrace however .. unable to dedicate time 😦

    • Thumbelina81 May 26, 2013 at 2:27 am #

      I hear ya Jack, I couldnt make time for gardening when I was working too. I think gardening is a perk for full time home makers like me.

      • My Say May 26, 2013 at 3:50 am #

        I wish I were a homemaker too 🙂 ..

  4. Our Jaipur May 24, 2013 at 6:37 am #

    Nice Informative, I will also try . . . 🙂

  5. Meghana May 24, 2013 at 9:45 am #

    wow, never seen bhindi on plant till date, thanks for this post… Do post pics of your whole garden.. i love gardening but hardly able to maintain even my tulsi… how to you manage?

    • Thumbelina81 May 26, 2013 at 2:29 am #

      Meghana, oh i have 50 pots in three balconies, thats my garden with mere space left for me to walk around and water them. I think nurturing them does the trick .

  6. Kalpana Misra May 24, 2013 at 12:06 pm #

    Adorable photos of your pets. Look at the sheen on those gorgeous home grown okras. Nothing to beat it.

    • Thumbelina81 May 26, 2013 at 2:30 am #

      Thanks Kalpana. yeah the sheen was gorgeous and they tasted yummylicious too.

  7. Madhu Bhardwaj May 24, 2013 at 6:19 pm #

    So satisfying. Good that you kept a record of their growing.:)

  8. chaitanya May 24, 2013 at 6:50 pm #

    yummy! I love okra, but don’t get enough in the US. What weather conditions do they like?

    • Thumbelina81 May 26, 2013 at 2:32 am #

      Thanks for visiting Chaitanya. Okra thrives in tropical climate. the sunnier the better apparently

  9. Random Musings by Swati May 24, 2013 at 10:41 pm #

    Where are you based and is it possible to grow okra in Delhi as well or are there certain climatic conditions one need to fulfill.

    • Thumbelina81 May 26, 2013 at 2:33 am #

      Hi Swathi, I am based out of Bangalore. I am an amateur gardener,and I have heard that okra loves the sun. so maybe Delhi would work.

  10. bradleybee May 25, 2013 at 2:03 am #

    what a GREAT entry and what a BEAUTIFUL plant. i absolutely love okra, and the flower is gorgeous! i never knew how they grew! very cool 🙂

  11. Indrani May 25, 2013 at 4:26 am #

    This is inspiring!

  12. Thumbelina81 May 26, 2013 at 2:34 am #

    Thanks Indrani for stopping by

  13. Aditi June 5, 2013 at 9:12 am #

    I would love to grow Bhindi….I’m just getting my hands dirty in container gardening and have started with coriander as my first plant/herb….you’ve inspired me to keep a track of its growth!! Thanks a lot 🙂 🙂 Oh and the flower is so beautiful….never knew that Okra was related to the hibiscus family…

    • Thumbelina81 June 5, 2013 at 3:17 pm #

      Thanks Aditi for visiting and taking time to comment. It was a wonderful experience growing Bhindi and coriander as well if you have seen my previous post .Would love to know more of your gardening endeavours. Please do keep in touch

      • Aditi June 6, 2013 at 5:16 am #

        Will surely do…m sure to visit your space more often!!

  14. Elizabeth Melton Parsons June 7, 2013 at 10:43 am #

    My entire family loves okra with the exception of myself and one brother. My mom grew and cooked a lot of it when I was growing up. Love the blooms, hate the okra. But the ones you grew are beautiful. 🙂

    • Thumbelina81 June 9, 2013 at 8:01 am #

      Thanks for visiting and taking time to comment Elizabeth. Hope to see more of you.

  15. InnerDialect July 19, 2013 at 6:36 am #

    Reblogged this on DiJiTalk.com.

  16. Hima July 24, 2013 at 7:47 pm #

    Could you please let me know the size of the pot in which I can grow one okra plant? I have few seeds germinating in my peat pallets. I have two seeds in each and both are germinating so, I was thinking of transplanting them into containers sooner than later. As they grow, I fear that I might ruin their roots. Once I plant them into big containers do not plan on disturbing them from there. And where do you live please? I am guessing in US. Thanks in advance. Looking forward for a reply… Any any idea how to grow melon cucumber plants? I have few seeds germinating and transplanted them into small containers I guess 1 gallon ones but don’t see them grow further… any thoughts or tips on that too?

    • Thumbelina81 August 4, 2013 at 5:38 am #

      Hima, sincere apologies for the delay in replying, for some reason, your comment landed up in my spam comments. Transplanting is tricky. I generally transplant my saplings when they grow four leaves. and I usually do it early mornings or late evenings, protecting them from the harsh sunlight. I generally use 15 L pots for all my plants. pretty standard because i grow one veggie at a time due to lack of space. I live in Bangalore India, about the melon cucumber plants,I have never grown them, but my mum tells me that the plant needs staking once they grow and lots of sunlight, thereafter. Have you tried adding a bit of organic fertilizer ? Do keep in touch would love to hear the progress

  17. Ashutosh October 21, 2013 at 1:19 pm #

    Can you please let me know which Organic Fertilizer we need to use fro controlling weed?
    I have just started taking interest in gardening..so for you this might be very basic question 🙂

Leave a Reply

