Say Hello to the Buddha Belly Plant

18 Jun

Oh you waif like thin plants, swaying away in all glory, take a look at my Buddha Belly Plant or Jatropha Podagrica. She upholds the family tradition and takes after Caveman and me. Growing her girth every year, she now has a rotound belly. She is all of four years now and doesnt need any pesticides. She is strong and sits pretty gracing a corner of my balcony. There she is, displaying her belly.

Buddha Belly

She looked like this when she came home. ย Slender and cute with a flowerhead and glossy leaves.

DSC01692

Through the year, she blossoms with these coral beauties. ย That’s her most gorgeous flowerhead posing for the camera.

Jatropha

I have two of them now in a big pot, mostly for their foliage and pretty flowers. They are unsual looking and brighten up the space . They are sturdy and require very less care except for the annual pruning. The leaves are growing quite wide because they do not recieve too much light in my balcony. Trying to find a sunny spot now.

I am a little careful when pets or kids are around apparently the green fruits are toxic.

DSC00620

DSC01263 (2)

Let me know if you loved our chubby babies.

21 Responses to “Say Hello to the Buddha Belly Plant”

  1. Johnny Ojanpera June 18, 2013 at 2:00 am #

    The flowers are beautiful. That was a good description. You made me giggle. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Indrani June 18, 2013 at 3:02 am #

    That inspires me.
    Thanks for the caution.

    • Thumbelina81 June 22, 2013 at 9:24 am #

      Always welcome Indrani. Do you have a garden too??

  3. marymtf June 18, 2013 at 3:17 am #

    Just lovely. You are inspiring me to go do something about my neglected garden.

    • Thumbelina81 June 22, 2013 at 9:25 am #

      Thanks for dropping by Mary. Im glad I could spread a bit of joy and inspire people to garden.You must try it out. its the best high I could ever ask for.

  4. My Say June 18, 2013 at 4:04 am #

    beautiful tentacle like flower !! absolute beauty ๐Ÿ™‚ Pitter Potter ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. tumpishome June 18, 2013 at 4:34 am #

    love this plant…thanks babe for giving me a sapling

  6. Debopam Banerjee June 18, 2013 at 7:21 am #

    Loved the flowers of this plant… They are so bright and cute… Never known to me is the name of this plant…. I have one in my house also….

    • Thumbelina81 June 22, 2013 at 9:26 am #

      Wow Deb, Looks like we have quite a few plants in common. When are you going to post the pic of your garden.

  7. Easwar Arumugam June 18, 2013 at 9:50 am #

    Flowers are lovely. The plant is something new, strange thing to me

    • Thumbelina81 June 22, 2013 at 9:26 am #

      Thank you Sir, it looked strange to me when it came into our house, but nevertheless love its colour

  8. Ronald June 19, 2013 at 7:16 pm #

    Owned this plant About 20 years ago and then lost it. Now it is very rare over here (netherlands). I have ordered 2 plants from my local garden centre and finally got them about 3 weeks ago. Both flowering. Also I’ve got ร  yellow podagrica but it had no roots, no leaves and no flowers. Actually ร  caudex only. It is in ร  gritty mix for over 10 weeks now. still no lifesign though the caudex still looks green. Any hints to help this one wake up?

    • Thumbelina81 June 22, 2013 at 9:29 am #

      Yellow Podagrica?? that sounds exotic, I have never seen one locally. How is the climate in Netherlands.In extreme summers , especially after pruning, I would place the caudex in a semi shade area and move it into direct sunlight onlywhen it had leaves I am just an amateur gardener and usually figure out things by trial and error. Sending love and energy to the plant.

      • Ronald June 26, 2013 at 6:37 pm #

        Thanks for your reply. Climate in the netherlands is cold compared to what you’re used to ; ) In summer in between 15 and 25 Celsius. Keep them in my window soil though. Still no sprouts and roots. : ( I’ve started to spray with ร  water mist once ร  day. No luck yet …

  9. Vasudha K. S. June 28, 2013 at 3:25 am #

    I have this plant for about 2 years and it has bloomed twice so far. I didn’t know it’s name,funny although..

  10. sushmitha06 July 2, 2013 at 6:42 am #

    Beautiful flowers ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. Glorious Mettle July 2, 2013 at 7:40 pm #

    I’m always interested in a plant that can survive a person who doesn’t have a green thumb ๐Ÿ™‚ cool addition to my list of plants I might actually not kill.

  12. Beth July 17, 2013 at 4:06 pm #

    I love the flowers on this! They are so unique. I enjoyed your descriptions and photos ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ll have to scour the local greenhouses to see if I can find one ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

