Spinach from the pot to the plate

27 Jun

Well its the rainy season. And come June and July, Amma would get us filled with the seasons best offerings, lush leafy vegetables. And I grew up loving this awesome green wonder and thanks to destiny, it turned out be Caveman’s favourite veggie too.

So the spinach growing experiment started with  the seeds from the local nursery, tilled the soil , and off they went.. As always haphazard lining but the seeds germinated in 8 days. and looked so fresh and pretty even when they put their heads up. I placed it on my kitchen balcony sill where the pot got atleast four hours of sunlight.

Image

Image

 And after a month, they were ready to harvest, lush green, and on my kitchen platform.

ImageAnd then came the amazing Palak Dal ( Spinach Lentil Soup) for those who need to know and the Caveman’s favourite – Spinach and Cheese Sandwich.

Image

Image

 

I have three pots of spinach lined up now and we hope to gorge on as much as spinach as we can.

 

 

10 Responses to “Spinach from the pot to the plate”

  1. urbanbalconygarden June 28, 2013 at 1:04 pm #

    those are some fresh looking palak!!

  2. magiceye July 2, 2013 at 4:32 am #

    This is so cool! Good on you!!

  3. sushmitha06 July 2, 2013 at 6:40 am #

    Wow ! Looking so good. Greeny 🙂

  4. madconnection July 2, 2013 at 10:37 am #

    Tempting and so beautiful to look at!

  5. My Say July 2, 2013 at 4:45 pm #

    my staple food .. till few years back 😀

  6. chinks July 9, 2013 at 7:38 am #

    Wow!! My favourite. I am tempted to grow it in my kitchen. But I don’t have a balcony nor there is enough sunlight 😦

  7. Mominthegarden July 16, 2013 at 12:51 pm #

    ooh, spinach lentil soup! I’m intrigued! What a lovely way to grow spinach. I am not so successful with container gardens… yet! 😉 Dana

  8. Jimmy vs. World! July 24, 2013 at 3:40 pm #

    Nothing beats feeding yourself and others with plants grown in your own garden! 🙂

  9. Jean August 6, 2013 at 5:05 pm #

    I want to do that!!!

Leave a Reply

