Banana’s over Banana Peppers

15 Jul

Its been a while and being the tortured cubicle dweller and coping up with my allergic rhinitis hardly gave me any time. But nevertheless, managed to grow a potful of Banana Peppers or Hungarian Yellow Wax peppers which were amazing to taste and so pretty to ogle at.

Take a look at how it all started. It took a wait of two and half months from the seed to the fruit.The journey began when the colour on the packet enticed me.

Image

I did not get the pretty yellow but managed to get pretty close to the hue. Heres a pictorial journey of the lovely peppers. I particularly loved the one in the extreme right. The pepper sure looks like a banana.

ImageAnd note the size of the peppers :

Image

And heres one for the buffet table, Loved adding the colour to the table.

Image

And when it was enough of gourmet, I decided to give it the Desi Tadka. So ripened a few peppers n the plant ,and made a yummylicious chutney which was a hit with the Idli’s.

Image

Image

Β Lessons learnt-Β 

  • The peppers are very thirsty plants
  • They need atleast four hours of sunlight.
  • The plants are prone to attracting aphids and need particular care when they bear peppers.
  • They paint a pretty colourful picture when they are left to ripen in the pot.

And for the next time,if time permits, I am going to try out the stuffed pepper recipe mentioned here.

So long folks..have fun pottering around and holler if you need to know more.

Β 

14 Responses to “Banana’s over Banana Peppers”

  1. sushmitha06 July 15, 2013 at 4:17 pm #

    Wow ! Looking so nice πŸ™‚ I just love these it πŸ™‚ Especially Bajji’s made out of this would be so nice πŸ™‚ Whether seeds of this plants available in every markets Sonia ?

  2. kitchenmummy July 15, 2013 at 5:13 pm #

    wow! your produce looks fantastic!

  3. indrani July 16, 2013 at 10:55 am #

    Ready for tasty bhajis. πŸ™‚

  4. babso2you July 16, 2013 at 1:21 pm #

    Lovely site! Many thanks for signing up to follow my blog! I hope that you will enjoy my posts! – b

  5. CatRutgers4art July 16, 2013 at 1:44 pm #

    Hello, Pitter Potter! Great to discover your site … I recently tasted banana peppers for the first time, and they are delicious, no doubt even more so when you grow them yourself! Very happy to see you are enjoying CatRutgers4art. Have a wonderful day!!

  6. lucindalines July 16, 2013 at 3:50 pm #

    Peppers are so pretty besides their great flavor. I was not aware of the aphid thing, I will have to watch my plants more closely. Thanks!

  7. atkokosplace July 17, 2013 at 4:40 am #

    Your peppers are fantastic. I need to grow some! Thank you for the post, I really enjoyed it. πŸ˜€

  8. Shilpi Dutta July 17, 2013 at 6:26 am #

    Though m not a spice or pepper person, your post makes it look tempting! Good info and nice to be enlightened..literally πŸ˜‰

  9. urbanbalconygarden July 17, 2013 at 11:24 am #

    True, peppers are a delight to grow and to eat!! I used to have normal chillies and they had a severe pest attack. Atlast I had to sacrifice those plants 😦

  10. Bee July 18, 2013 at 10:54 pm #

    Please accept award nomination http://barbmca.wordpress.com/2013/07/18/1106/

  11. gardeningshoe July 19, 2013 at 6:41 am #

    Hi – I have just discovered you and now I discover that you can grow lovely peppers in under three months! I am green with envy. I usually sow in winter and harvest at the very end of summer. Still…. they do make beautiful plants.

  12. Malini August 5, 2013 at 10:52 am #

    Has been a long time in the blogosphere Sonia. Hope things are good! These peppers look absolutely brilliant!

    • Thumbelina81 August 6, 2013 at 2:29 pm #

      hey Malini,Thanks.Ive been swamped under the pile of work.. but try and do my bit with gardening. How are you doing?

      • Malini August 13, 2013 at 8:02 am #

        Am good too, but life’s a tad too hectic to consider active blogging. Hmm, but hope to post atleast sporadically 😦

Leave a Reply

