Kohlrabi/ knolkhol in pots

4 Aug

Kohlrabi or knolkhol’s are  the distant cousins of the cabbage family . They have a nutty flavour but a little more pungent in their taste . Funny looking ,as much as they are, they add in quite a punch either to your salads or the dinner pots. Personally, my favourite is the Knol Khol Sambhar that Amma used to churn out:

So in anticipation of the beautiful vegetables, the seeds were sown and I was quite happy to see them germinate in a weeks’ time. After ten days and a bit of organic fertilizer later .Their tiny stems were swelling up

Image

 

Image

 

And this happens when you crowd your vegetables while planting and dont thin the plants :

Image

And after 55 days of waiting and watching them grow their girth, here they were . The perfect size waiting for them to be harvested.

Image

 

ImageTeaming them up with my homegrown tomatoes was not only a visual delight but a culinary one at that too:

Image

 

Lessons learnt:

Harvesting them while they are tender makes the vegetable taste heavenly

They need ample space around them to grow . Thinning is a must if you see them fighting for spaces and resources like my baby knolknols.

They prefer cold climates and are not huge fans of direct,uninterrupted sunlight.

 

24 Responses to “Kohlrabi/ knolkhol in pots”

  1. Sfurti Juztamom August 4, 2013 at 10:24 am #

    They look lovely and the tomatoes too. I am planning to take up gardening seriously and hence bookmarking your blog!

  2. thesalemgarden August 4, 2013 at 4:09 pm #

    I haven’t grown kohlrabi but I had a Chinese neighbor a long time ago who used to grow tons of it and cook it for us. Maybe I’ll try it!

    • Thumbelina81 August 6, 2013 at 2:32 pm #

      Its a lovely favour, somewhere between a radish and cauliflower. Loved it . You must try it sometime.

  3. toothius August 5, 2013 at 2:08 am #

    Those look great! I planted kohlrabi for the first time just recently for the fall garden. I use the square foot garden method which recommends 16 plants in one square foot. Do you think that’s too crowded? Mine have sprouted 🙂

    • Thumbelina81 August 6, 2013 at 2:31 pm #

      Thanks for sharing the tip. I never learn my lessons, I crowd the plants and then I am too weak hearted to thin the saplings. Need to avoid it atleast in the next harvest.

  4. atkokosplace August 5, 2013 at 3:00 am #

    I’ve never grown it nor have I tasted it. I guess I will have to give this a try and look up some recipes! Thanks for the article. 😀

  5. Shilpi Dutta August 5, 2013 at 5:11 am #

    Oh so u have a kitchen garden! Patience bore the sweet fruits 🙂 Nice!

  6. barbstruestories August 5, 2013 at 10:50 am #

    The blogging world is amazing, isn’t it. Gardeners in India and Canada can compare the joys and challenges of horticulture! Thank you for stopping by and following my blog. I am looking forward to following yours. I wish I could buy some of those pots from the shop shown on your recent blog. It would be a bit of a drive home afterward.

  7. Madhu bhardwaj August 5, 2013 at 5:24 pm #

    So pretty and satisfying. And the daily delight of watching them grow is something else. 🙂

    • Thumbelina81 August 6, 2013 at 2:28 pm #

      Yes, Mam,, the whole experience is blissful and therapeutic.

  8. Meghana August 5, 2013 at 6:28 pm #

    I always wait for your posts on this blog… Its a treat to watch your photographs…

    • Thumbelina81 August 6, 2013 at 2:27 pm #

      Thanks Meghana. Cant wait for my next post too.Makes me extremely happy to share my labour of love.

  9. urbanbalconygarden August 6, 2013 at 8:17 am #

    It’s nice that they are alright
    in less sunlight, could survive in my balcony very well 🙂 do they flower and seed? How do you save seed for the next time?

    • Thumbelina81 August 6, 2013 at 2:26 pm #

      Subashini.. Well,you stumped me there. I am growing this for the first time and was too eager to eat all of the produce. i dont think they flower. Have one left in the pot, will keep you posted if I notice something.

  10. Bushra Muzaffar August 6, 2013 at 10:23 am #

    Sonia your Knolkhol or ‘Gaanth Gobhi’ as we call it look lovely with those Oh so RED! tomatoes. I am sure the sabzi too must have turned out yummy.

  11. Norma Chang August 7, 2013 at 11:22 pm #

    Good looking kohlrabi and tomatoes. It is always difficult for me to thin plants but I know to get good harvest one must get the job done.

    • Thumbelina81 August 22, 2013 at 9:24 am #

      I agree, Norma, But thinning actually breaks my heart. I try and transplant them often but sometimes I just have to toughen up.

  12. mohammed Muzzakir August 13, 2013 at 5:24 pm #

    i am also fan of this site but how to join in it…my head is acheing trying from so many days …please suggest me how to join in this site….but no explanations nor attitute required while explaning plzzzzzzzzzz…

  13. sushmitha06 August 22, 2013 at 9:34 am #

    It’s delight to watch these captures 🙂 Nice one 🙂

  14. muriellerites August 22, 2013 at 9:09 pm #

    You did great with your veggies in pots. I tried 6 different squash and cucumber in pots this summer. They only gave out small decorative fruit. My garden squash on the other hand were super. Guess pot planting isn’t for me. Great blog. Thanks for dropping by. Take care.

Leave a Reply

