All weirded out

21 Aug

Caveman could not  believe that I could fall in love with a plant called Birthworts and it did not help my case that it was listed in the top ten ugly plants by the Telegraph. The vindictive man sent me the link hoping to dissaude me from bringing her into the household. But ever since this , my maternal instincts refuse to calm down when brought to the fore. So yes, she came into our house inspite of the stiff opposition and has made our abode hers for the past six months.

Something about the woody flowers that gives the creeper an exotic look , and then as I always say,, beauty lies in the eyes of the beholder, So with no further ado, I present to you  my Aristolachea gigantia plants .

All set to bloom ..

DSC01368

And theres the bloom

DSC01403More of them here

And miffed by the opposition, I am determined to spread the beauty to the near and dear. Waiting to collect the seeds from the fruit that seems to grow:

DSC01594

The plant is an aggressive creeper flourishing on my balcony and does not receive more than 2 hours of sunlight.  Standing out among all  the other flowers , it sure knows to leave a lasting impression .

22 Responses to “All weirded out”

  1. thesalemgarden August 21, 2013 at 1:56 pm #

    lol, if ever a plant looked like a placenta, it’s this one. I’ve never seen it before. Thanks for sharing something so interesting!

    • Thumbelina81 August 22, 2013 at 9:11 am #

      My Pleasure . You are kind when you say it reminds you of a placenta. The husband and the friends had not chosen kinder comparisions. Lol

    • bearspawprint August 24, 2013 at 5:22 pm #

      ditto

  2. Sarah August 21, 2013 at 2:53 pm #

    Wow! Kinda weird but doesn’t deserve to be called ugly. I’m with you on this one. 🙂

  3. polianthus August 21, 2013 at 3:27 pm #

    weird looking plant, a little obscene, can understand that it doesn’t figure as one of the worlds top most beautiful plants, but also understand that you wanted to rescue it and bring it home, plus the name by itself is seriously cool!

    • Thumbelina81 August 22, 2013 at 9:06 am #

      Lol and lots of giggles. You will be surprised, I actually paid for it and got it home.

      • polianthus August 22, 2013 at 11:24 am #

        as someone who regularly rescues plants off the 50% off shelf in the supermarket, because nobody else wants them, and they might be upset by this – the plants not the humans I can relate 🙂 I also pick up stray dogs, cats, tortoises etc – cant help it must be congenital so trust me I sympathise! Have fun with your new flatmate – and actually I agree with comment below making a list of the worlds ugliest plants is sad! However, why don’t you show caveman the following plant: check out http://www.arkive.org/rafflesia/rafflesia-arnoldi/ – big smelly flowers – plant lives as a parasite AND it consumes insects – I am sure he will start to love the one you got all the more when he knows what else is out there!

      • polianthus August 22, 2013 at 1:40 pm #

        just nominated you for an award for both your sites – check it out on my blog!

  4. atkokosplace August 21, 2013 at 3:32 pm #

    So sad it made the list of top 10 ugliest plants….I don’t find it ugly. Anything that blooms a flower can’t be that bad! 😀

    • Thumbelina81 August 22, 2013 at 9:05 am #

      I agree. like I said, beauty lies in the eyes of the beholder.

  5. mohammed Muzzakir August 21, 2013 at 5:47 pm #

    i liked it

  6. heretherebespiders August 21, 2013 at 7:07 pm #

    Not ugly at all! Does it have a bit of powdery mildew, or are the leaves variegated? I can’t tell, sorry. I’d have that in my garden for sure.

  7. compostingwords August 21, 2013 at 7:20 pm #

    This IS a strange looking plant but very interesting. I think the open flower is quite beautiful. Thanks for sharing.

    • Thumbelina81 August 22, 2013 at 9:03 am #

      Thanks for visiting and the pleasure is all mine. Im glad there are people who agree with me.

  8. TIA August 22, 2013 at 1:25 am #

    I think it’s gorgeous…what climate does that grow in? I always love the draping greenery…almost more than the flowers themselves.

    • Thumbelina81 August 22, 2013 at 9:03 am #

      Hi Tia, It indeed is pretty.From what I’ve read up, its not seasonal, and doesnt require much sunlight. i love the greenery too, but am a fan of the flora too.

  9. This bud is for YOU August 22, 2013 at 4:55 am #

    I wouldn’t call it an ugly plant. It’s different and interesting but not ugly. Does It have a scent?

    • Thumbelina81 August 22, 2013 at 8:59 am #

      Hi Yes, it does have an overpowering musky scent.And I agree with you , its different and pretty interesting.

  10. Saudamini August 22, 2013 at 8:59 am #

    Thanks for sharing it. The flowers do look a little weird but not ugly

  11. sushmitha06 August 22, 2013 at 9:40 am #

    It’s not looking ugly ! Nice one and thanks for sharing about this rare plant 🙂

Leave a Reply

