A never ending wait for the Carrots

21 Sep

I have always been a fan of pulling up fresh carrots from the soil and devouring them.  But had never tried growing them in a container, as always my curiosity got the better of me, and then the much awaited purchase of the carrot seeds from the local nursery happened.    I  was quite surprised to note that the seeds resembled  cumin seeds faintly.

carrot seeds

I  was told by my  Amma that carrots need a lot of  loose soil, and had to ensure that  I raked the soil enough to ensure there were no weeds or stones . Started with one big pot.    The carrots seemed adamant in testing my patience and took around 3 weeks just to germinate.   I  was instructed to keep the soil moist, weed free all the time.

In two months time, the leaves resembled that of very tall coriander plants ,reminding me of my coriander pots.

carrot leaves

 

When  I  couldnt wait longer, I pulled out a plant and was extremely dissappointed to see these babies just forming.

unformed carrotsAnd then the wait continued which seemed like forever, and then at  70 days , could see the heads pushing up previously seen here.  I  was instructed to cover the heads up with soil.

carrot head

 

 

orange head

 

And finally on the 87th day came the labour of love,  I pulled most of them out and left some in the pot.  So here’s presenting the baby carrots.

carrots

 

Was not very happy with the size of the produce . apparently  I  needed to fertilise them which  I did not.  All I would do is mulch them enough.

And here’s what  I  made with the first batch.  A  few glasses of the freshest carrot juice which  I know will work wonders for my eyes.

carrot juice

So long folks.  See you soon.   I await your comments as always.

 

 

 

 

9 Responses to “A never ending wait for the Carrots”

  1. bethbyrnes September 21, 2013 at 3:23 pm #

    Just delightful. Thank you for sharing this.

  2. heretherebespiders September 21, 2013 at 3:24 pm #

    My eyes are happier for seeing them! I too couldn’t resist and pulled just one carrot up today. It’s beautiful! Perfect, fat and straight. Yay for carrots!

  3. KerryCan September 21, 2013 at 4:03 pm #

    I’m pretty impressed! But that is a very long wait . . .

  4. Pradip September 21, 2013 at 4:14 pm #

    Very nice to learn. i am going to try.

  5. Indrani September 22, 2013 at 12:25 am #

    Wow! It means one CAN grow carrots! I have not gone beyond palak and methi.

  6. Harsha September 22, 2013 at 6:40 am #

    Good One…I think I will try that too..

    • mylittlefarmintown September 25, 2013 at 2:33 am #

      I grow my carrots in old zinc wash tubs. (I have rocky, shallow soil in the only area of my yard that I have sun.) I added extra sand this year and had better results. I also planted varieties that get fat and stubby–Nantes was my best performer. I tend to plant thick and then eat the thinnings when they are small and tender. My grandmother taught me to do that with greens, onions, and carrots. Your carrots are lovely. You must have a real feeling of achievement!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Wrapping up October _ Of life, love and marriage | My Nascence - October 24, 2013

    […] while you are here, the other blog saw some new posts, on growing carrots in containers and of rainbow blooms. Take a peek and do send some […]

  2. From the pot to the plate- Cabbage | Pitter Potter Mad Gardener - November 3, 2013

    […] been a while since I have grown vegetables since the carrots tested my patience. So I went searching for veggie seeds that would not take too long and bought the […]

Leave a Reply

