Hibiscus blooms – My personal rainbow

22 Oct

So, I have been a lil under the weather, and thankfully the blooms are cheering me up. A huge fan of the hardy bloom for ages now, they are the stars of my balcony brightening my gloomy days.

image

image

image

image

image

image

But pray, I dint know they were such high maintenance.Look at the fungal rot affecting the buds and flowers.a spray of neem liquid ever week is becoming a must.TakeΒ  a look at the ugly spots.

image

Tips anyone???

16 Responses to “Hibiscus blooms – My personal rainbow”

  1. heretherebespiders October 22, 2013 at 8:09 am #

    Beautiful! I’ve never had them, so am no help. Did you know that hibiscus flowers are an iguana’s favourite food?

    No, no help but full of other useless information πŸ™‚

    • Thumbelina81 October 24, 2013 at 7:11 am #

      Hehhee . I love plant trivia and love the fact that you care enough to comment. Thanks. I ve never seen an iguana in India. Making a mental note to look for them next time i visit the zoo.

  2. Aditi October 22, 2013 at 9:20 am #

    Hi dear….hope you are feeling better. I’ve not had a flower for months in my hibiscus plant…the leaves seem healthy though…can you think of a reason? Your advice is much appreciated! πŸ™‚

    • Thumbelina81 October 24, 2013 at 7:28 am #

      Thanks Aditi. I am not an expert ,but here’s what works for me. I make sure they get ample sunlight . I water them only on alternate days . They dont like too much of water. And at the risk of being called a plant loonie.. i must confess, I yell at the plants ( something my mother does) , and surprisingly it works. heehee let me know if it works for you.

  3. Desi Traveler October 22, 2013 at 11:00 am #

    Too good and vibrant colors….

    • Thumbelina81 October 24, 2013 at 7:25 am #

      Thank you. Hope to see you here more often

  4. Joanne October 22, 2013 at 4:16 pm #

    What beautiful blooms – I always admire your patience with your gardening!

    • Thumbelina81 October 24, 2013 at 7:29 am #

      Thank you Joanne, actually its the other way around, the plants keep me going .How have you been?

      • Joanne October 24, 2013 at 9:51 pm #

        Now that the flu I’ve been playing host to for the last week is finally clearing, I’m feeling much better thank you. Time to begin blogging our vacation we returned from last week. So much to write, so little time, lol!

  5. indrani October 23, 2013 at 5:17 am #

    They come in amazing colors.
    Try a spray of cococola, I have heard it helps.

    • Thumbelina81 October 24, 2013 at 7:30 am #

      Thanks Indrani. Will try the coca cola thing on one of the plants this weekend. I am a lil skeptical if the sugar in the drink might attract ants,but will try nonetheless.

  6. shilpiunleashed October 23, 2013 at 8:33 am #

    What!!!!! Yellow hibiscus? Seeing this for 1st time …lovely all of them

    • Thumbelina81 October 24, 2013 at 7:32 am #

      Hi Shilpi, whereabouts are you based? Hibiscus comes in various colours here and are available at local nurseries, apparently they are called Hawaiian blooms. Thank you for visiting.

  7. sushmitha06 November 4, 2013 at 4:31 am #

    Lovely one Sonia πŸ™‚ Its treat to eyes πŸ™‚ In between one doubt. Is neem liquid available in markets ? Because even I need them for my plants. Most importantly for Hibiscus ! Waiting for your reply πŸ™‚

    • Thumbelina81 November 4, 2013 at 4:34 am #

      Hi Sushmitha, Whereabouts are you based? In Bangalore, Indiranagar, I pick up the liquid from Green Essence. I dilute the mix, and spray it over the plants, My mother, who lives in Hyderabad, generally boils neem leaves , reduces the liquid into half , mixes in a lil bit of soap oil and sprays them on to her plants, works for her well. Let me know if this helps.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Wrapping up October _ Of life, love and marriage | My Nascence - October 24, 2013

    […] while you are here, the other blog saw some new posts, on growing carrots in containers and of rainbow blooms. Take a peek and do send some […]

Leave a Reply

