From the pot to the plate- Cabbage

3 Nov

Its been a while since I have grown vegetables since the carrots tested my patience. So I went searching for veggie seeds that would not take too long and bought the cabbage seeds from the local nursery.  Prepared the soil ( mix of cocopeat, soil, vermicompost and manure) and then off went the seeds. A  week later and I had these cute saplings coming up. (Absolute mindless scattering. I never learn ,do I?)

Image

 

Better sense prevailed and I thinned the growth, transplanting some of them and unfortunately discarding the weak ones. Here are the one month old saplings.

Image

 I fertilised them with organic fertilizer at this stage.  Ensured that the soil is moist, and kept removing the yellowing leaves at the base. And after 45 days of wait, I could see the plant preparing itself , first the base and slowly the formation of the head.

Image

 

Image

Another round of fertilising and here I had the fully formed head after around 25 days.

Image

I harvested the head after a week , and loved the tender, sweet vegetable.  Harvesting it was fun, as though mother nature, was presenting me with a stalk.(tap root)

ImageHere’s what I made from the home grown cabbage following the recipe from my favourite cooking blog. (Kothiyavanu)

Here’s the dish that the family loved and enjoyed. Cabbage Thoran ( A south Indian cabbage stir fry)

Image

 

So here I go , enjoying the weather , the festivities in the air , waiting to hear from you.

What’s growing in your garden this season?

19 Responses to “From the pot to the plate- Cabbage”

  1. Judy @ GrandparentsPlus2 November 3, 2013 at 12:05 pm #

    Your plants were beautiful and your cabbage looks delicious. The only thing in my garden is leaves, leaves, and more leaves. I live vicariously through other bloggers who are still gardening, and I’ve moved on to my winter hobby – quilting. 🙂

    • Thumbelina81 November 3, 2013 at 3:05 pm #

      Thanks Judy.Quilting sounds amazing. The maple leaves quilt looks gorgeous.

  2. barbstruestories November 3, 2013 at 12:13 pm #

    Nothing is growing outside in Ontario, Canada and nothing will till March/April next year when the early plants will start to show. That cabbage variety grows so quickly! Our varietals take 120 to 160+ days from germination to harvest. It’s something to imagine heat and growth in one part of the world where we have seen our first skiff of snow and we are pulling out snow boots and parkas in preparation for what is to come.

    • Thumbelina81 November 3, 2013 at 3:11 pm #

      Thanks Barb. You are right. Strange are the ways of nature. Thankfully I live in a part of India (Bengaluru) where the weather is not so extreme, and i get to indulge in gardening throughout the year.Its one of those blessings I forget to be grateful for. But, I must admit that I do dream of snow and someday want to make a snowman. Lol

  3. indrani November 3, 2013 at 12:59 pm #

    So, it is possible!
    Thanks for showing.

    • Thumbelina81 November 3, 2013 at 3:12 pm #

      You are welcome Indrani, the pleasure is all mine. I loved growing the cabbages and I must say, it wasnt a high maintenance veggie.

  4. Joanne November 3, 2013 at 3:28 pm #

    I’m in awe as always as to what you can do with a pot – you are my inspiration… again! 🙂

    • Thumbelina81 November 3, 2013 at 4:13 pm #

      Thanks Joanne its love from all you folks that keep me going

  5. sushmitha06 November 4, 2013 at 4:25 am #

    Wow ! Lovely 🙂 Happy to see them grow 🙂

    • Thumbelina81 November 4, 2013 at 4:26 am #

      Thank Sushmitha. I am glad you liked them.

  6. desi Traveler (@desiTraveler) November 4, 2013 at 8:08 pm #

    It is such a good thing to grow your own veggies. Any tips on growing Onions 🙂

    • Thumbelina81 November 16, 2013 at 7:54 pm #

      It is indeed a pleasure.Unfortunately inspite of the rocketing prices, I have never been motivated to grow onions. I must blame the lack of space for it. But someday, hopefully I ll be able to grow them

  7. Aditi November 5, 2013 at 4:59 am #

    Lovely pics! The cabbage looks so fresh…all plants are so happy in your garden!! 😉 and the food looks delicious 🙂

    • Thumbelina81 November 16, 2013 at 7:52 pm #

      Thanks Aditi, It is always a pleasure to hear from you.

  8. mylittlefarmintown November 5, 2013 at 12:01 pm #

    Last week, I harvested my last cabbage and fed the root and outer leaves to my hens. That old cabbage plant was part of the two eggs my husband had for breakfast yesterday! LOL The only vegetable I am still harvesting growing is celery. The frost makes it sweeter–the same is true of cabbage. Here in southern Wisconsin it is cold, rainy and edging into winter. I still have some parsley and sage to harvest and dry.

    I am starting to sprout seed in my seed sprouter on the kitchen counter to eat on salads and sandwiches: mixes of mung, radish, broccoli, alfalfa, and clover seed. Do you do any sprouting?

    • Thumbelina81 November 16, 2013 at 7:52 pm #

      Awesome. I have had trouble growing celery, parsley and sage , I guess the hot humid weather in India is to blame. I hope I persevere and make it work. I plan to sprout and sow some peas . I hope that works. Will keep you posted.

  9. Raji Nair December 2, 2013 at 3:30 pm #

    Hi Sonia,

    I came across your blog from Indiblogger and loved it. Dug deeper and found out your other blog also. Are you a writer? Because you have a wonderful way with words that I can only dream about 😦
    Regarding growing parsley and sage, they will grow nicely in Bangalore. From last year, we are growing them at home. You can grow celery too, especially to root celery bulb in water and then transplant to soil.

    • Thumbelina81 December 6, 2013 at 10:53 am #

      Thanks Raji. Yes I do ramble along in my other blog. Thanks for visiting and Ill surely try to grow some parsley and sage. Oh pls , do send me some pictures of your garden. would love to see a fellow bangloreans garden.

  10. uniquelyauthentic December 24, 2013 at 1:53 pm #

    I am missing my garden right now. I’m dreaming of what I’ll be able to grow once the winter has abated. We officially began winter here on the east coast of the United States recently. Oh spring come quickly…lol

Leave a Reply

