The Black beauty

23 Dec

Shiny black with its violet flowers, this handsome veggie was the pride of the garden. Luscious to look at, delicious to devour, dear black beauty, thanks for the pleasant surprise.

Here’s the pictorial journey from a flower to the  eggplant all in a matter of fifteen days.

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

And here’s to the final product

Image

 

Notes –

1. The plant needed heavy staking while it was growing primarily because of the weight.

2. Eggplants are very thirsty plants and needed water almost daily.

3. I’d like it to call it the versatile veggie, being the perfect accompaniment to any food.

4. Needed a lot of sunlight and the plant dint really appreciate the onset of winter.

5. It is better to pluck them early before the glossiness fades off, because they tend to get too seedy inside.

 

18 Responses to “The Black beauty”

  1. Johnny Ojanpera December 23, 2013 at 3:38 pm #

    Beautiful! 🙂

  2. indrani December 23, 2013 at 4:01 pm #

    Fruit of hard work!

    • mylittlefarmintown December 23, 2013 at 4:46 pm #

      I grew this variety in my front yard this past summer, along with three or four other varieties I was given by a friend. The Black Beauty was the best producer of all of them. Have you ever tried the variety Rosa Bianca? It is a round, mauve and cream eggplant. Less prolific but a finer flavor and so pretty. BTW I love the beautiful flowers of eggplant and okra–you get the best of both worlds: lovely to look at and delicious to eat!

      • Thumbelina81 December 24, 2013 at 5:54 am #

        Hi Thank you so much for writing in. I have not tried the Rosa Bianca will try it some time. I never knew that I could eat the flowers as well, Will definitely give it a try.

  3. uniquelyauthentic December 23, 2013 at 7:09 pm #

    Wonderfully done! Thanks for sharing…along with the photos.

  4. Deepa December 24, 2013 at 5:55 am #

    Wow amazing. looks beautiful. 🙂 Its so nice to watch the veggie growing and then fresh vegetables to eat.

    • Thumbelina81 December 24, 2013 at 5:58 am #

      Thanks Deepa. You are right , its an amazing feeling.

  5. mylittlefarmintown December 24, 2013 at 3:58 pm #

    I just reread my comment to you about eggplant. I don’t think I would eat the flowers. I meant that the flowers are showy and pretty to look at and the FRUIT is delicious. So sorry for my bad writing! Please don’t try eating the flowers honey.

  6. Joanne December 25, 2013 at 9:40 pm #

    What a glorious flower to this vegetable – I had no idea – thank you and well done – I’m envious as always! 😉

    • Thumbelina81 December 28, 2013 at 4:50 pm #

      Thanks Joanne, as always good to see you here. Hope you had a merry christmas.

  7. Crazy Gardner December 26, 2013 at 8:33 pm #

    Hey, Great Stuff! I am a new Gardner and a new blogger myself. do check my blog
    http://seedgerminator.wordpress.com/

    HAPPY GERMiNATING

    • Thumbelina81 December 28, 2013 at 4:50 pm #

      Hey thanks for visiting, will check you blog as well.

  8. .SplitPea. Edible Landscaping December 27, 2013 at 8:40 pm #

    Indoors? A beauty for sure!

  9. sushmitha06 December 29, 2013 at 4:31 am #

    Wow ! It’s just awesome 🙂

Leave a Reply

